Yoga Sunday: The “Yamas”

We’ve been going a bit our of order in our exploration of the “8 Limbs of Yoga” in our Yoga Sunday posts, but bear with us! Today we’re talking about the FIRST limb of yoga, the 5 “Yamas”. These are the five big moral rules for ethical living according to Patanjali, the author of the Yoga Sutras. “Yama” in Sanskrit means “restraint” so the yamas are rules about things NOT to do, or behaviors to restrain yourself/abstain from. The Yamas are:


Ahimsa: nonviolence

Satya: truthfulness

Asteya: non-stealing

Brahmacharya: non-excess (often interpreted as celibacy, or simply to not hurt or harm another person through your sexual conduct)

Aparigraha: non-possessiveness, non-greed, non-hoarding

Image credit:

The Yamas are pretty simple and I think we can all agree they’re good rules to live by!